Pacific Rim

Title: Pacific Rim
Type: movie – American
Director: Guillermo del Toro
Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-fi

Synopsis: As a war between humankind and monstrous sea creatures wages on, a former pilot and a trainee are paired up to drive a seemingly obsolete special weapon in a desperate effort to save the world from the apocalypse. (source: imdb.com)

Rating: ★★★★☆

Acting: ★★★★★
Background Music: ★★★★★
Direction/Editing: ★★★★☆
Writing: ★★★★☆

In-depth Analysis:
I watched Pacific Rim with a friend a few days ago because both of us have heard from many that it was one of the best films they’ve seen or the best sci-fi/action film in ages. I cannot disagree with the latter, but the movie did not live up to the hype that I heard. Nevertheless, the trailer does NOT do justice to the movie, so I’m glad that I gave this movie a chance.

I have never seen any other performances by each cast member besides Idris Elba and Burn Gorman. Idris Elba has incredible presence and charisma on screen that draws the audience in. Burn Gorman and Charlie Day’s performances are hilarious, especially when their characters bicker at each other. Rinko Kikuchi, on the hand, astounded me. She is able to portray a strong, intelligent female character among what is a heavily dominated male cast. Plus, I think her English is fantastic considering it’s not her native language.

As I was watching the film, I have to admit, the plot seems like a cross between Godzilla and Japanese mecha anime like Gundam Wing or Transformers. Also, I’m a huge fan of action movies, but I felt a bit lost while watching the battle scenes. Maybe I sat too up front in the theatre, but half the time I was confused by what was happening when the Kaiju (monsters) and Jaegers (giant robots that the humans pilot). My friend and I agreed there were bits and pieces that weren’t properly explained or could have done better. For me, I wish there were more backstory to the characters; we only fleshed out Kikuchi’s character Mako Mori.
[spoilers]
What I didn’t understand was why in every fight scene the pilots resorted to punching when they had so many weapons at their disposal that were more effective than fists. For example, Gispy Danger had a fricken sword and they didn’t bring it out until the last bit of its second battle. WHY? It seems obvious that if the Jaegers had sharp, pointy objects or firearms, then they could have killed all the Kaiju with no sweat.
[/spoilers]

I absolutely adore the diversity in the cast, and how they throw in foreign dialogues here and there. There are a few cheesy lines that would have been better if they haven’t been said, but I guess it’s to bring comedic relief.

The music is creative as it fits to the scene. For example, when the scene are shot in the streets of Hong Kong, there is an Eastern feel to the music. I suggest anyone to pay attention to the OST while it plays in the background.

The visuals were stunning. I don’t know if Hong Kong at night really is colorful with its neon lights, but it seems almost like I’m in a animation film; it was THAT colorful. I really appreciate the variety of Kaiju and Jaegers designs and how they look different from one another.

Considering how there are many apocalyptic and sic-fi movies lately, it baffles me why this movie isn’t doing as well as it should be. I can totally picture this as a game as well. Despite the few criticisms I had, I still recommend this movie for anyone who is a huge fan of sci-fi and/or action.

Leave a Reply

