Frozen Green Tea Bars with Sweet Azuki Bean

Before the semester begins, I want to share with y’all this treat I bought a while back.

the packaging
the packaging

I have always wanted to try these frozen bars/ice bars/what-should-I-even-call-them-bars ever since I combined green tea ice cream with an imagawayaki. It was like a revelation; I finally understood why desserts like these have this divine combination. I bought this when I saw it on sale because, regularly, it is surprisingly pricey. Each package comes with six bars that are relatively small.

I eagerly took a bite out of the frozen treat and was met with a lackluster taste of matcha and an overwhelming sweetness of red bean. I could literally taste the corn syrup that encompassed the frozen bar’s core as I took another bite. The icy exterior was nothing I imagined as well. I should have suspected it would not be creamy by its name, but I was blinded by the divine combination that was shown on the package (seriously, I recommend everyone to try an imagawayaki with a scoop of green tea ice cream on top). That is not to say that the green shell was nasty. When there was no more azuki bean filling and I was nearing the end of the bar, I could taste the green tea. Finally. I think that area is the best part.

Rating: 3/5.

one bite in
one bite in and I was filled with a millisecond of happiness
Leave a Reply

