Code Geass

Per a friend’s recommendation, I watched Code Geass, directed by Gorō Taniguchi and written by Ichirō Ōkouchi, this past week. My friend actually recommended the anime a while ago, and I tried watching an episode; however, the character design, which is done by Clamp, bothered me quite a bit. Don’t get me wrong, I really admire Clamp but long limbs/disproportionate characters irk me. Nevertheless, the battle scenes are amazingly animated and the outfit/costume design is very lavish and detailed. When I solely focused on the storyline I could not stop watching, and I finished both seasons within a couple of days.

Code Geass
Code Geass artwork © 2006 Clamp

Forgive me, I am a bit lazy to write a spoiler-free synopsis. According to wikipedia: “the series focuses on how the former prince Lelouch vi Britannia obtains a power known as Geass and decides to use it to obliterate the Holy Britannian Empire, an imperial monarchy and a superpower that has been conquering various countries.”

I think most of the characters are well-rounded and complex, making the anime very enticing. They are neither good nor bad, just grey, so I was constantly second-guessing the motives behind Lelouch and other primary characters. I like how Code Geass brings a bit of everything: action, sci-fi (hello, mecha!), fantasy, romance, tragedy, etc. Also, the Japanese voice acting is superb. For example, Jun Fukuyama, who voices Lelouch, is a chameleon because he is able to create so many personas for the character simply by changing his speech.

I think if you like shows like Game of Thrones or Death Note, then I definitely recommend watching Code Geass.

Leave a Reply

