I Am Malala

17851885
I Am Malala is a beautiful and empowering memoir written by young education activist Malala Yousafzai that teaches us the power of the pen. In a nutshell, the book talks about her family and hometown, and how everything changed when the Taliban appeared and took control.

As school is quickly approaching, I am dreading the thought of returning to monotony and many all-nighters. Reading this book reminded me that I should be grateful that I have the opportunity to learn unlike some who are less fortunate. I often forget how privileged I am to be living in a country where I am allowed to attend school despite being a girl, and how I am encouraged to speak and share what’s on my mind.

If you ever have a chance, I recommend picking up a copy of I Am Malala. I leave you with a quote:

“I don’t know why people have divided the whole world into two groups, west and east. Education is neither eastern nor western. Education is education and it’s the right of every human being.”

—Malala Yousafzai

2 thoughts on “I Am Malala

Leave a Reply

