I-Mei Ice Bar Mania

I posted a while back about I-Mei Pudding Ice Cream Bar. There was a 2 for $7 sale a couple weeks ago, so I hopped on the chance on buying other flavors I haven’t tasted yet. My friend bought Pearl Milk Tea and Matcha Red Bean flavors (which I unfortunately forgot to take photos of), and I bought Melon and Mango.

I definitely recommend buying Pearl Milk Tea ice cream bar because it literally tastes like the drink in a icy dessert form. The pearls/tapioca balls felt like eating the remains of a pearl, if that makes any sense. I would prefer them in larger chunks to fully experience their chewy goodness, but maybe they purposely made the pearls small because, at a low temperature, the consistency might be different and they want that to go unnoticed.

Maybe I’ve been spoiled with Japanese treats, but the matcha red bean isn’t as mind-blowingly awesome as the Pearl Milk Tea. While I do like the matcha flavor, the red bean tasted a bit funky, like it’s fake or something. The matcha flavor is very subtle. The potency of the matcha isn’t like maeda-en’s green tea ice cream (which I find is the perfect balance), but I-Mei’s Matcha Red Bean is definitely better than the Frozen Green Tea Bars with Sweet Azuki Bean I had a while back.

The Mango ice cream bar is divided into two flavors: vanilla and mango. The vanilla side has a gritty texture, which for some odd reason, makes it really addicting to chomp down. The mango side is icy yet smooth; its texture is somewhat similar to a sorbet or frozen mango puree. I definitely like the vanilla side more than the mango side, but eating both sides together is like an explosion of tart mango flavor balanced out with a sweet vanilla flavor.

Bite into I-Mei Mango Ice Bar
Bite into I-Mei Mango Ice Bar

The Melon ice cream bar is similarly fashioned as the mango ice cream bar: one side is vanilla and the other melon. The melon flavor is very strong and sweet. The vanilla side doesn’t have a gritty texture like the mango and it is subdued by the melon flavor. It was an interesting experience eating my first I-Mei Melon ice cream bar since melon is an uncommon ice cream flavor here in the states. I have tried other brands, and I think I-Mei’s complemented my preference more as it isn’t too sweet as other brands.

packaging
packaging
I-Mei Melon Ice Bar
I-Mei Melon Ice Bar

Ratings:
Pearl Milk Tea: 5/5
Matcha Red Bean: 4/5
Melon: 4.5/5
Mango: 5/5

2 thoughts on “I-Mei Ice Bar Mania

  1. I just wanted to say I stumbled upon your blog and wanted to let you know I really enjoy it! Don’t stop writing! You’ve got yourself a new reader! 🙂

    Yum, I love melon ice cream. the pearl milk tea flavor sounds very interesting. Sounds like a good balance between milk tea and frozen dessert! I’ll have to keep a look out for pearl milk tea ice cream bars.

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment!! I will try my best to continue to offer interesting stories and reviews 😀

      Indeed, the pearl milk tea is a must. I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

