Setting Goals

Back in 2011, I wrote a list of what I planned to do before I turned 25. I cracked open my journal containing said list, read what my 2011-self wrote, and laughed at some of the silly things I wrote: fly a kite, talk to a celebrity, dance in the rain. It’s no surprise that I have not completed 80% of the list, but I am still surprised that I managed to do 20% of it.

To some, making a list of goals is stupid and a waste of time. To others, it’s beneficial because it is a reminder and a motivator. I admit, I always make a resolutions list when the new year arrives, and I end up never doing any of them. For example, I always say I will build my vocabulary in foreign languages, practice everyday, blah blah. It falls apart the next day. The problem with resolutions list compared to this “things I am going to do” list is duration. It demands change that can only be achieved through repetition of an act(s) during a long period. The other list contains things that happen in a moment: flying a kite, going to a zoo/circus, going to CA Adventures, etc. It’s spontaneous. I know I am waffling here, but I came this realization as I was staring at my “accomplishments.”

As the year is drawing to an end, I realize how life is swiftly moving. Try new things and be a little spontaneous because, forgive me, #yolo. (excuse me while I go barf from my cheesiness).

Leave a Reply

