Tokyo Ghoul √A episode 1

whitehairkaneki
I honestly could not sleep yesterday because of the excitement (also the fact that there’s a new episode of Your Lie In April), and I woke up early and kept refreshing tumblr and hulu for any glimpse of episode one. Heading over to funimation, in all its glory, was episode one. Available. Just a click away. Well… several because I registered just to get a 14-day trial to stream Tokyo Ghoul √A. I’m not obsessed at all /whistles/

The raging feels coursed through my body that I needed to run around the house and scream after I finished the first episode. I’m not kidding, I’m trying to let it out right now by making random graphics and posting it on tumblr. If only I had someone to talk to, haha. If you’re a Tokyo Ghoul fan, please let’s chat!! 😀 I’m quite glad the anime isn’t like Sherlock where I have to wait a year for a new season, haha.

After the first season ended, I decided to read the manga, all 14 volumes, to kill some time and see why there were a lot of criticism. No, I haven’t read Tokyo Ghoul:Re because knowing me, I’ll catch up within a day and writhe on the floor in pain because I would have to wait for the next chapter release; I’m not going to torture myself.

Anyway, back to Tokyo Ghoul √A. I didn’t know much about it other than the mangaka was going to be supervising the season. I assumed this was so the anime would follow the story of the manga; hence, the rise in my expectation after reading the manga. However, my eyes bulged and I yelled random words (WHAT-THE-BLOODY-FLACHSUBAAAHHDA-OH-MY-GOSHHHH-WUTTTTT was probably the exact words that came out of my mouth) at the last three minutes of episode 1. [SPOILER]Part of me is sad Kaneki joined Aogiri Tree but part of my is excited where the story is heading. I really hope we get to see more of Ayato and what his relationship with Kaneki will be like. What really bummed me out was we didn’t get to see Kaneki breaking 103 bones, but with this new story, you take what you get.[/SPOILER]

I actually really like the opening song. It’s a different take from a typical anime op. It’s mellow and the lyrics are intriguing. The opening sequence itself is loaded with symbolism. I appreciate that it doesn’t give away what will happen in the anime or introduce any new character, but rather it conveys Kaneki’s metamorphosis. However, unravel will always have a special place in my heart, or rather ears, since it related to Kaneki’s story so well and I’m a sucker for string instruments.

I don’t know if they’re planning to censor like they did in the first season, but it seems like they didn’t, which I think is great. I’m not kidding when I say inverting colors and blacking out more than 1/3 of the screen ruins the experience.

Tokyo Ghoul © Sui Ishida 2011
Tokyo Ghoul © Sui Ishida 2011
My impromptu review (I’ll write a more in depth review someday), but I definitely recommend anyone who hasn’t watched and/or read Tokyo Ghoul to do so. You can watch the anime without reading the manga, or read the manga to see the differences/similarities. There are only 11 episodes in the first season, but a lot of character development, especially Kaneki Ken’s (the main character of the story), is cut out, but if that doesn’t bother you, then head over to Hulu or whatever streaming site you know! From what I read season 2 is also 11 or 12 episodes long, so it’s not like Bleach or, goodness gracious, One Piece and Naruto.

It is very violent, so if blood and gore trigger you, please don’t torture yourself!! I also must warn you, you will become incredibly invested in these characters, and some of them do not have happy endings. /coughs/

Excitement is still humming throughout!

Leave a Reply

