Childhood is calling

_MG_9797

I am fortunate enough to have an older brother who loves video games. I don’t recall which console I played on first or what my first game was, but it is safe to say that the Super Nintendo made a huge impact on me. I remember how we had games without the cartridge casing (so basically the green piece of metal), and I remember my brother playing Secret of Mana and battling AIs in Street Fighter. Chun Li obviously is the best character.

Why the sudden nostalgia? Apparently my brother’s friend has been holding on to my brother’s SNES games and he finally returned them. I didn’t even realize we owned so many. After rediscovering the console amongst many cable wires a couple years ago, I plugged it in to see if it still worked… and it did, and still does.

I guess what I am trying to say is that despite the graphics looking primitive in comparison to today’s video games and despite the console being clunky, the Super Nintendo is timeless. These games laid out before me are timeless… well, some of them. I literally feel like I am four again as I am clutching these SNES cartridges.

If you don’t hear from me in a while, it’s safe to assume that I am engulfed in a 16-bit world.

What was your first video game you’ve played? Do you have a favorite game and console?

Leave a Reply

