Binge

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I was taught that being myself was not only okay, but encouraged—and by being unapologetically yourself, you thrive and inspire others to thrive.

I just finished reading Tyler Oakley’s Binge. One word: wow.

Tyler Oakley, like many YouTubers/YouTube content creators out there, recently released a book. However what makes his book distinct from others I’ve read is his transparency and realness. I can’t exactly put into words how intimate it felt reading his experiences, such as coming out to his family and friends, working multiple jobs to pay for school, and his life as a YouTuber. I laughed out loud reading his Disney Princes ranking, and I wholeheartedly agree Aladdin deserves the number 1 spot. My heart ached reading his struggles with eating disorder and his relationship with a closeted homosexual. Honestly, reading Binge felt like I was chatting with Tyler over drinks (except I don’t drink alcohol, so water on the rocks, please!).

I can continue to rave about the book, but I think I would spoil so much of it. Nevertheless, here is one of my favorite quotes from Binge I would like to share:

Maybe we all go through life carefully constructing our profiles to say what we’re looking for, all while not saying anything that might scare people away… and after a time we start to believe what we’re putting out there. Our fear of people’s rejecting the things that makes us happy limits how much happiness we can actually find. I guess when we’re a bit more honest with ourselves and others, we might get more of what we actually deserve.

Tyler is a phenomenal person who I think puts an insane amount of effort into maintaining a relationship with his audience, and bringing to light social issues, particularly LGBTQ+ issues, that we often forget or are ignorant about. Regardless whether or not you’re into the whole YouTube culture and community, I definitely recommend reading Binge.

Rating: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

